Skip to main content

2024 Fiber Connect Awards

Each year, the Fiber Broadband Association (FBA) celebrates the outstanding contributions of individuals and organizations in the industry who have advanced the fiber-to-the-home (FTTH) industry. Historically, 4 awards have been given by FBA and our partners at Fiber Connect: the Chairman’s Award, Star Award, Photon Award, the Gene Scott Education Award as well as the Lightwave FTTXcellence Award and the Cablefax Award(s). In 2024 these awards will be presented at our specialty awards luncheon and include the addition of the Fiber Forward AMPLIFY Awards.


FBA Annual Awards

  • Chairman’s Award
    • This award singles out an individual or company that has shown tremendous effort to promote, educate, or accelerate fiber-to-the-home.
  • Star Award
    • This award recognizes a person, community, or company that has gone above and beyond what is expected in the advancement of fiber to the home.
  • Photon Award
    • This Award recognizes a Fiber Broadband Association member who, through their volunteer contribution, has demonstrated a high level of dedication to the organization and contribution to the industry.
  • Gene Scott Education Award
    • This award recognizes a person, community, or institution that has provided a significant impact on the advancement of education in the fiber industry.


NEW Fiber Forward AMPLIFY Awards

The Fiber Broadband Association’s Fiber Forward AMPLIFY Awards recognize the individuals, companies and innovations that have demonstrated the ability to boost the strength of those around them, providing the needed amplification required to move fiber broadband forward. These awards recognize contributions of individuals and companies in the following categories:

Individual Awards

  • Fiber Under Forty
    • Designed to recognize the individuals born in 1985 or later that are having an impact on their companies, or the industry, far beyond their years.
  • Women Changing Fiber for Good
    • Focused on women who are making changes that will be felt for years to come and second, uncovered how they are making the industry better.
  • Advocacy Allstars
    • Recognize the individuals working to advance the agenda of the fiber broadband industry on the state and federal levels.

Company Awards

  • Community Impact
    • Centered on fiber broadband projects that are enabling communities and changing lives in communities across North America.
  • Product Innovation
    • Showcasing technology innovation and advancement that expands fiber broadband’s ability to deliver the services customers demand today and over the next decade.
  • Taking Fiber Further
    • Highlighting the teams that are working together to support community broadband fiber network expansion, including construction, planning, and integration.
  • Constellation
    • Celebrating the individual companies that came together to form a coalition that helped advance fiber broadband networks across communities, states, and regions.


Nominations submitted for each category, person or company, must be part of an FBA member company. Nominations will open on April 15th and close on May 15th. Finalists will be announced on June 14th. Award recipients will be announced at Fiber Connect 2024, on July 29, at the Awards Luncheon. Three to four finalists will be selected for each award. Finalists will be determined by the Conference Committee. To help select the recipients for the inaugural Fiber Forward AMPLIFY Awards, we’ve recruited some of the best and brightest individuals who have helped shape FBA for years. These include:

  • Katie Espeseth, VP New Products, New Business, EPB,
  • Joanne Hovis, President and CEO, CTC Technology and Energy
  • Joseph “JJ” Jones, President, OnTrak, Inc.
  • Kevin Morgan, CMO, Clearfield
  • John Greene, Retired CEO, New Lisbon Telephone
  • Jaimie Lenderman, Research Manager and Principal Analyst, Omdia
  • Jeff Heynen, Vice President, Broadband Access and Home Networking, Dell’Oro
  • John Fletcher, Senior Analyst, S&P Global


For information about membership, please contact Jennifer Vassil at

For information about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Lucy Green at